On Campus: SW La. students recognized for achievements

Published 7:06 am Sunday, May 19, 2024

Southeastern honors locals

HAMMOND — Southeastern Louisiana University has named 3,862 students to its honors list for the spring 2024 semester.

The honors list is divided into three academic levels. To be named to the President’s List, students must have earned a 3.50 or better grade-point average. Students on the dean’s list have earned a 3.20-3.49 GPA, and honor roll students have earned a 3.0-3.19 GPA.

Email newsletter signup

Local students named to the honor’s list are:


Elizabeth — (Honor Roll) Rhianna N. McRee.

Oakdale —(President’s List) Jessie B. McCullough, Jordan D. Stapleton.


Iowa — (President’s List) Andrew T. Desormeaux.

Lake Charles — (President’s List) Breanna N. Fontenot, Nathaniel J. McNally; (Dean’s List) Molly R. Ortego.

Sulphur — (President’s List) Landen J. East.

Vinton — (President’s List) Alexayrie S. Mazon; (Honor Roll) Matthew Joseph, Kaitlyn E. Orillion.


Leesville — (President’s List) Chloe C. Bennett.

SNHU recognizes area students

MANCHESTER, N.H. — Southern New Hampshire University has announced its winter 2024 dean’s and president’s list honorees.

Full-time undergraduate students who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.70 and above are named to the president’s list. Full-time undergraduate students who have earned a minimum GPA of 3.5 to 3.699 for the reporting term are named to the dean’s list.

Kelly LeMaire and Kylie Bullock, both of DeRidder, were named to the president’s list.

Local students named to the dean’s list: Troy Portie and Alisha Lavan, both of Lake Charles; Samantha Harris of Kinder; Alinsey Kuykendall of Rosepine; Dustin Hansen of Sulphur; and Courtney Thompson of Vinton.

Reeves earns  Taylor Medal

UNIVERSITY, Miss. — Olivia Reeves of Sulphur —an integrated marketing communications major — was among the 80 University of Mississippi students to receive a 2024 Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medal, the university’s highest academic award.

The award recognizes no more than 1% of the student body each year.

Centenary College  honors local

SHREVEPORT — Centenary College’s annual Honors Convocation recognizes students for achievements in academics and campus leadership.

Local students recognized and the awards presented:

Lake Charles — Jo Hoffman, Research Conference Awards: Humanities; Jordan Hoffman, Foreign Languages, Le Prix Louisa Lamotte, as well as Foreign Languages, Pi Delta Phi (French Honor Society); Sydney Welch, Student Government Association, SGA Sophomore Senators

Leesville — Samuel Brocato, Student Government Association, SGA Executive Committee members: Vice President of Institutional Affairs

Welsh — Austyn Benoit, Research Conference Awards: Natural Sciences.

Five awarded scholarships 

Five students from the Lake Charles area are among the 56 high school seniors across the U.S. who will each receive $16,000 college scholarships from the Phillips 66 Dependent Scholarship Program.

The competitive program is open to outstanding college-bound students whose parents work for Phillips 66.

 The area honorees are Cale Davis of Sam Houston High School, son of Phillips 66 employee Benjamen Davis; Isaac Dupree of South Beauregard High School in Longville, son of Phillips 66 employee Shane Dupree; Sophia Smith of St. Louis Catholic High, daughter of Phillips 66 employee Lisa Smith; Allie Himel of Lacassine High School in Lacassine, daughter of Phillips 66 employee Reggie Himel; and Tate Wainwright of Grand Lake High School in Grand Lake, son of Phillips 66 employee Nichole Wainwright.

The scholarships are based on academic excellence, community service and financial need.

Faulk earns master’s degree

DAHLONEGA, Ga. — For the spring 2024 semester, the University of North Georgia awarded about 1,700 degrees and certificates to graduates.

Britani Faulk of Westlake graduated with a Master of Science in kinesiology.

Four presented scholarships

The CSE Federal Credit Union’s Community Foundation awarded $1,000 scholarships to four recent high school graduates to support their college or vocational education. The recipients are Michael O’Brien, Tova Husers, Bailey Waters, and Lainee Landry.

O’Brien, a senior at Jennings High School, serves as treasurer for the Future Farmers of America chapter and is on the tennis team. He plans to attend Louisiana Tech this fall, majoring in biomedical engineering.

Husers, also from Jennings High School, participates in the Octagon Club, Foreign Language Club, Jennings High Jazzers and is a member of First Baptist Church Jennings (FBCJ) Youth. She is set to study biology at the University of Louisiana Monroe.

Waters will graduate from Barbe High School, where she is an officer in the National Honor Society, an Academic All-State member of the cross-country team, and a karate instructor for children. She intends to major in kinesiology at McNeese State University.

Landry, involved in several activities at Lacassine High School including Future Business Leaders of America, French Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, National Beta Club, Student Council, the tennis team and the cheerleading squad. She plans to pursue early childhood education at McNeese State University.