Names in the News: People shaping the future of Lake Area business

Published 10:33 am Sunday, May 5, 2024

Brown new chief medical officer

Lake Charles Memorial Health System welcomes William A. Brown, MD, MHA as the new chief medical officer. In this role he will be instrumental in aligning clinical best practices across three hospitals, 30-plus clinic locations, and oversee clinical quality assurance of over 600 credentialed medical staff members.

Brown received his medical degree from Louisiana State University Medical Center—Shreveport, where he also spent his residency training in general surgery. While still in Shreveport, he completed a fellowship in colon and rectal surgery and is board certified in Colon and Rectal Surgery by the American Board of Surgery. He most recently earned a Master of Healthcare Administration from Louisiana State University—Shreveport.

Email newsletter signup

After relocating to New Mexico, Brown spent 14 years in private practice, until he joined Presbyterian Healthcare Services in Albuquerque, N.M., where he practiced and held the positions of Medical Director of Perioperative Services, Program Medical Director-Surgery/Medical Director Perioperative Services, and most recently, Chief Medical Officer and Vice President of Medical Staff Affairs.

Latter & Blum to join Compass

NEW YORK — Compass, the largest residential real estate brokerage in the U.S. by sales volume, welcomes Latter & Blum, the No 1. brokerage in the Gulf South. With the move, Latter & Blum agents gain access to a vast referral network and the industry’s leading technology platform.

Founded in 2012, Compass is home to nearly 30,000 agents and maintains a presence nationwide in 150-plus cities.

Founded in 1916, Latter & Blum is led by Chairman Robert Merrick and his daughter, CEO Lacey Merrick Conway, and in 2023, Latter & Blum agents closed $3.6 billion in transaction volume.

Christus Health recognized

IRVING, Texas — Christus Health, a faith-based, not-for-profit global health system, has earned the prestigious “Great Place To Work” national certification, which is awarded based entirely on what current Associates say about their experience working there.

In a random survey of 5,000 Associates from across the organization, 80% of respondents said Christus Health is a great place to work. This is 15 percentage points higher than the qualifying benchmark. Every year, more than 10,000 companies across 60 countries apply to be certified as a Great Place To Work.

Christus Health is among the largest health systems in the country with over 50,000 associates and more than 60 hospitals in Texas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Chile, Colombia and Mexico.

Creole Nature Trail leadership

The Creole Nature Trail District Board of Commissioners announces its  newest chair and welcomes a new member.

With eight years of dedicated service to the board, Wendy Walker Harrington is the newly appointed Chair of the  Creole Nature Trail District Board of Commissioners.

She is employed by the Cameron Parish Police Jury and a proud Johnson Bayou resident.

With a decade of experience at Cheniere, Stephanie Huck brings both a wealth of expertise and a deep connection to the Creole Nature Trail as she travels it daily.

A former elementary teacher in Calcasieu Parish for 15 years, Huck shares her passion for the outdoors and eagerness  to contribute to the board’s mission.

A nine-member board of directors governs the board: Harrington as the 2024 board chair, Paul Guillory as vice-chair and Carolyn Miller as secretary/treasurer.   

Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame

ANGOLA — Department of Public Safety & Corrections Secretary Jimmy LeBlanc and the Louisiana Prison Museum and Cultural Center are proud to announce that Cameron Parish Sheriff Ron Johnson has been selected for induction into the prestigious Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame.

This year marks the 19th ceremony honoring those who have made significant contributions to the pursuit of justice in our state.

The inductees will be formally recognized at a banquet on June 7 at the Lod Cook Alumni Center at LSU in Baton Rouge. Earlier that day, there will be a free, open to the public, ribbon-cutting ceremony that will occur at the Louisiana Prison Museum on the grounds of the state penitentiary at Angola.

Vidrine named Volunteer of Year

SULPHUR — In a recent tribute to the spirit of giving, the Citgo Lake Charles Refinery recognized its remarkable TeamCitgo volunteers during the W.A.V.E. (We Are Volunteer Employees) celebration. Among these dedicated individuals, Norma Vidrine, a senior technical analyst, was named Volunteer of the Year based on her service hours and commitment throughout 2023.

The impact of TeamCitgo extends beyond the refinery gates and includes organizations and causes such as United Way, Citgo Caring for our Coast, Calcasieu Parish schools, McNeese State University, Sowela Technical Community College and the Muscular Dystrophy Association.

Jackson to lead university

Dr. Ruth Ray Jackson, a native of Jennings, has been appointed president of Langston University in Langston, Okla., by the Oklahoma A&M Board of Regents.

Jackson served as vice president for academic affairs prior to being named interim president in July 2023. She previously served as the university’s associate vice president for student success and as dean and professor for the School of Education and Behavioral Sciences.

Before joining Langston, Jackson spent 11 years at the Louisiana State University Shreveport where she served as an associate professor, assistant professor, department chair and program director. She also worked 10 years as a public school teacher and administrator for the Iberville School Board.

Jackson earned a PhD in education and human resource management from Colorado State University. She also holds a master of education degree in education leadership and administration and a bachelor of science degree in secondary education from Southern University.

Acadiana  elects officers

BATON ROUGE — The Acadiana Delegation of the Louisiana Legislature has elected its officers for 2024. It’s executive committee will include Rep. Troy Romero (Calcasieu and Jeff Davis parishes),

Formed in 1979, the Acadiana Delegation consists of 36 House of Representatives members and 12 Senate members elected from the 22 parishes recognized by the state as the Acadiana Region.