ELECTION RESULTS: Calcasieu Police Jury seats decided

Published 11:12 pm Saturday, October 14, 2023

Voters in Calcasieu Parish District 1 chose Darby Quinn over Reath Chauvin for the police jury according to results from the Secretary of State’s office.

Chauvin received 49.34 percent of the vote; Quinn, 50.66 percent. Both are Republicans.

Incumbent Michael “Big Mike” Smith (DEM) is the winner in District 2 with 59.2 percent of the vote, or 1,660 individual votes.
Shawntel Carter-Willis (DEM) had 524 votes, Emile LeVon Fontenot (DEM) received 505.

Email newsletter signup

In the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury race in District 3, it was incumbent Eddie Lewis Jr. (DEM) with 60.12 percent of the vote over Shelly Mayo (DEM), who received 39.88 percent of the vote.

The incumbents also came out the winners in District 4 and District 9. Tony Guillory (DEM), District 8 Police Juror, received 57.92 percent of the vote, or 1,181 votes, over Mack Delafosse (DEM) who finished the race with 42.8 percent of the vote. Incumbent Anthony L. Bartie (DEM) captured 68.2 percent of the vote in District 9, and Felicia Frank captured the rest of the pie with 31.98 percent.

In District 8, Mary Kay Eason (REP) will put a woman back on the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury. She garnered the position with 53.91 percent of the vote. Emily Fenet-Parker had 38.34 percent of the vote and Scott Washington was at 7.75 percent.