Names in the News: People shaping the future of Lake Area business

Published 4:33 pm Tuesday, September 7, 2021

Hatch named branch manager

First Federal Bank of Louisiana is proud to announce that Karen Hatch has been named the branch manager and lender at the bank’s McNeese branch, located at 324 E. McNeese St. Hatch has been with the bank since 2017 and previously served as senior branch supervisor at the main office.

In her new position, Hatch will oversee the McNeese branch’s daily operations and profitability while also managing consumer loans for the branch.

She is a graduate of McNeese State University with a Bachelor of Science in finance.

Christus Ochsner announces board

The Christus Ochsner Southwestern Louisiana Foundation is thrilled to announce its Board of Directors for the 2021-2022 fiscal year. The new board members and officers were elected at the annual meeting. The Foundation oversees the philanthropic efforts of Christus Ochsner St. Patrick and Christus Ochsner Lake Area Hospitals, which includes Children’s Miracle Network Hospital programming.

Leading the Foundation for the upcoming 2021-2022 fiscal year is chair, Missy Amidon.

Joining her on the executive committee are Nancy Burleigh, vice chair; Laura Leach, secretary; Blake Soto, treasurer; and members-at-large Bob Chandler, Dorothy McDaniel and Jim Davidson, president and chief operating officer of Christus Ochsner Health Southwestern Louisiana.

New board members are Greg Hennagin, senior vice president and general manger of Golden Nugget and Creed Romano, president and chief executive officer of the Jeff Davis Parish Economic Development, Tourist Commission and Chamber of Commerce.

Returning members to the board of directors are Brian Abshire; Carl Ambrose Sr.; Kimberly Caldarera-Theriot; Jamie Chapman; Natalie Garrison; Eligha Guillory, Jr.; Dr. Eddie Hebert; Elizabeth McLaughlin; Eric Mire; Sr. Helena Adaku Ogbuji; Josh Robinson; Faith Scott; Courtney Storer and Keith Wimberly.

Amidon has served on the Foundation Board since 2012 and is public affairs manager for Citgo Lake Charles. She has held numerous committee seats and has served as secretary, treasurer and vice chair.

In addition to the Foundation Board, she serves the community as a volunteer for Team Citgo and Southland Airport Management Board. She is a 2013 graduate of Leadership Southwest.

Amidon received a BA in public relations from McNeese State University and has more than 28 years in public relations and marketing experience in the SWLA region.

Wise awarded FASA designation

Myra Clavier Wise, M.D., has been awarded the Fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiologists designation.

The FASA designation identifies and promotes those members of its society exhibiting the highest standard in professionalism, leadership, advocacy for the profession of anesthesiology and patient safety and education.

Wise is a native of Sulphur and a graduate of Sulphur High School.  After receiving a Bachelor of Science degree in biology and chemistry from University of Louisiana-Lafayette, she earned a medical degree from Tulane Medical School.

She completed a residency at LSU-Charity Hospital in New Orleans where she was chief resident her final year.  She is board certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology. She is a partner of Lake Charles Anesthesiology, APMC. along with Dwight Lemoine, M.D., Brad Carlin, M.D., Richard Laborde, M.D., Mark Doiron, M.D., and Mark Lemaire, M.D.

Her practice locations include Christus St. Patrick Hospital, Christus Lake Area Hospital, and Imperial Surgery Center.

Wise is currently medical staff president of Christus St. Patrick Hospital and medical director of anesthesia quality and chief of anesthesia at both Lake Charles Christus hospitals.