Beauregard voters elect new faces to school board

The Beauregard Parish School Board will feature multiple new faces next year after Tuesday’s votes, according to unofficial results from the Secretary of State’s office.

Newcomer Garrett Greene unseated veteran District 3B panel member L.D. Spears with 72 percent, or 831 votes, to Spears’ 326, or 28 percent.

Greene will be joined by Casey Jones, who won the District 2 seat with 59 percent, or 575 votes, over incumbent opponent Timothy Hudson who earned 399 votes, or 41 percent.

Hudson was appointed to the Merryville district seat on an interim basis in April 2017 after the unexpected death of board member Charles Hudson. He was officially elected to finish out the unexpired term that following October.

In the District 5 seat, voters elected Heather “Nikki” Weldon with 69 percent, or 701 votes, over opponent Lynne Boggs who claimed 319 votes, or 31 percent.

Incumbent District 1 member Martha Spears Jackson defeated two opponents to secure her Singer district seat with 73 percent, or 557 of a total 766 votes, over Bruce Cooley and Wayne Reeves.

For their part of a multi-parish race, Beauregard Parish voters also overwhelmingly supported U.S. Representative Mike Johnson with more than 8,000 of 10,000 parish votes cast in favor of the incumbent Republican candidate.””Stock voting sign