Allen Parish SB honors teachers of the year

<p class="indent">OBERLIN — The Allen Parish School Board recognized its top educators Monday before setting forth plans for an annual supplement to be paid by the end of the year.</p><p class="indent">“Teaching (is) the profession that creates all others,” Superintendent Michael Doucet said in recognizing the 2018-2019 teacher of the year winners.</p><p class="indent">Teachers of the year are Sandra Fontenot, a science teacher at Oberlin High School and Samantha Abrusley, an English teacher at Fairview High School.</p><p class="indent">Parishwide teacher of the year finalists were Mea Dellahey, Elizabeth High; Janessa Ramos, Fairview High; Stacy Stark, Fairview High; Hannah Fontenot, Kinder Elementary; Stacy Hayes, Kinder Middle; Brandi Earl, Kinder High; Laura Jones, Oakdale Elementary; Zealon Solomon, Oakdale Middle; Ray Christian, Oakdale High; Alejandra Soileau, Oberlin Elementary; Robin Schultz, Lacey Harrison and Stephen Melville, all of Reeves High.</p><p class="indent">Each school selects a teacher to serve as their teacher of the year at the parish level, Doucet said.</p><p class="indent">Those competing completed applications that were judged by a district selection committee, which also interviewed the applicants, he said.</p><p class="indent">“My appreciation goes out to the teachers and judges for their dedication to this program which provides an opportunity to recognize our teachers’ daily instructional practices in order to prepare all students to become college and career ready,” Doucet said.</p><p class="indent">The parish teachers of the year also sent their portfolio, which included student data, a video of instruction, lesson plans and a lesson reflection to compete at the state level , said Clarice Papillion, high school supervisor.</p><p class="indent">Parish winners each received a $100 check, a plaque and a golden apple inscribed with their names and schools.</p><p class="indent">This was also the first year Allen Parish participated in the Principal of the Year competition.</p><p class="indent">Melanie Chapman, principal at Fairview High School, completed the application process and was selected as a state semi-finalist, Papillion said.</p><p class="indent">Chapman is in her third year as principal of Fairview High School.</p><p class="indent">In other matters, Doucet announced that teachers received their demand and performance pay supplement last week as required by law. The amounts range from $200 to $400, he said.</p><p class="indent">The School Board’s Finance Committee will also receive updated figures at the next two finance meetings to decide what kind of resolution can be made for a supplement from the revenue provided by the Coushatta council and sales tax revenue.</p><p class="indent">A final resolution is expected in November.</p><p class="indent">The supplement will be paid in the form of a 13th check to be distributed by the end of the year.</p>””Allen Parish Teachers of th year