Police Jury elects president, vice president for 2019

White, Mayo are both serving first terms

Calcasieu Parish police jurors Thursday unanimously elected Kevin White, of District 1, as its president for 2019, and Shelly Mayo, of District 3, as its vice president.

White replaces District 12 Police Juror Judd Bares as president. Mayo replaces White, who served as last year’s vice president. White and Mayo are both serving their first terms on the police jury.

Presidents and vice presidents of the police jury are elected in January and serve one-year terms.

Bares thanked his fellow police jurors for their support during his term as president.

“You get to see everybody in action, every department, all the pieces moving together,” he said. “I get to know and hear about the struggles and the important issues in everybody’s district.”

Later in the meeting, the panel approved renewing an agreement between the Police Jury and the Southwest Louisiana Economic Development Alliance for the alliance to provide economic development services for five years. The parish will pay the alliance $200,000 per year from its general fund over five years.

Parish Administrator Bryan Beam said the alliance acts as the “economic development arm” for the parish and cities. He said the Police Jury is one of several public and private funding sources for the alliance.

According to the scope of the agreement, some of the alliance’s services include marketing the Southwest Louisiana region, workforce development initiatives, along with developing and retaining business.””

Calcasieu Parish police jurors elected Kevin White as its president for 2019, and Shelly Mayo as its vice president, Thursday, Jan. 3, 2019.

Calcasieu Parish Police Jury Twitter