Fairview's Rylee' Jinks drives the lane against Florien during the LHSAA Marsh Madness Class B semi-final at Burton Coliseum in Lake Charles, Louisiana on Tuesday, March 3, 2020. (AP Photo/Lake Charles American Press, Kirk Meche)

Southwest Louisiana dominated this year's Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class B girls basketball all-state team with four of five first team members.

Leading the way is Class B girls most valuable player Fairview junior guard Rylee Jinks, who led the Panthers to their first state title since 2014 and a state record 12th overall.

Jinks averaged 14 points, 10 assists, five rebounds and five steals. She nearly had a triple-double in the state semifinals with 11 points, 11 rebounds, nine assists and seven steals and scored 19 points in the Panthers' 65-55 win over Hathaway in the finals.

Also on the first team for the Panthers is senior forward Maggie Manuel (20.8 ppg, 11.1 rpg), who had 27 rebounds and 11 points in the state championship game.

Joining the Fairview duo on the first team is Hathaway sophomore guard Chloey Guidry and Lacassine junior forward Vanessa Duhe. Guidry (16 ppg) lead the Hornets to the finals for the first time since 2011 while Duhe averaged a double-double (11.7 ppg, 11.2 rpg) for the Cardinals.

The fifth first team spot went to Florien's Gracie Sylvia (13.3 ppg, 8.7 rpg).


Courtnee Young

2020 LSWA Class B coach of the year

(ON FILE: Courtnee Young during the LHSAA Marsh Madness Class B semi-final at Burton Coliseum in Lake Charles, Louisiana on Wednesday, March 4, 2020.) (AP Photo/Lake Charles American Press, Kirk Meche)

Hathaway's Courtnee Young was named the girls Class B coach of the year after leading a young squad to a 30-6 season and its first appearance in the state finals since 2011. As a player, Young was the 2005 Louisiana Miss Basketball when she led Fairview to a state championship.

Fairview senior Laynee Jinks (15.6 ppg) made the second team along with University Academy's Jordyn Semones (16 ppg), Holden's Jaycee Hudges (17 ppg), Zwolle's Savanna Robertson (10.9 ppg) and Stanley's McKayla Williams (28.7 ppg).

Pitkin 6-5 senior guard Garrett Edwards (32 ppg, 13 rpg, 5 apg) was the only SWLA player to make the boys teams after leading the Tigers to the state tournament for the second time in three seasons. He is joined by Class B boys MVP Decari Markray (21.6 ppg) of Doyline, Simsboro's Kaleb Crane (23.0 ppg), J.S. Clark's Shaquay Hunt (18.5 ppg) and Simsboro's Jakemin Abney (23.0 ppg).

Edwards was the Class B MVP last season.

Hathaway senior Colby Augustine (21.5 ppg) earned second team honors along with Zwolle's Kobe Montgomery (21.8 ppg), Runnels' Collin Coates (17.5 ppg), Doyline's Jamaria Clark (17.2 ppg) and Stanley's Jacobi Forte (19.2 ppg).

Doyline's Michael Normand is the Class B boys coach of the year.

More from this section

Even moving up to the state's largest classification with four returning starters wasn't enough to slow the Sam Houston Broncos as they continued to build their softball dynasty.

SULPHUR— Welsh cowgirl Kylie Conner secured a state championship Tuesday at the Louisiana High School Finals Rodeo and is within striking distance of another.

  • Updated

Three decades of near misses and heartbreak came to an end for Washington-Marion in 2017, as the Charging Indians closed the season on a 15-game winning streak to claim its second state championship and first since 1987.

High school coaches and athletes received clarification on Wednesday from the Louisiana High School Athletic Association after it pushed back the start of summer activities from May 17 to June 8 because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Lake Charles' McKenzie LeDuff was named recipient of the Louisiana Golf Association's Dick and Linda Batti Scholarship, valued at $1,500 and is awarded annually to a female high school senior.