On Campus: SW La. students recognized for achievements

Published 8:23 am Monday, July 1, 2024

Stillwell inducted into honor society

BATON ROUGE — Abigail Stillwell of Lake Charles was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society.

Stillwell was initiated at University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Email newsletter signup

Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership.

Three graduate from university

UNIVERSITY, Miss. — Three Southwest Louisiana students were among the more than 3,100 recognized during graduation ceremonies at the University of Mississippi in May 2024.

Annabel Keers of Sulphur received a Bachelor of Arts from the College of Liberal Arts.

Jenna Lewis of Lake Charles received a Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Multi-Disciplinary Studies from the College of Liberal Arts and General Studies.

Olivia Reeves of Sulphur received a Bachelor of Science from the School of Journalism and New Media.

Seven awarded scholarships

WESTLAKE — Seven students from Southwest Louisiana are among 56 high school seniors across the U.S. who will each receive $16,000 college scholarships from the Phillips 66 Dependent Scholarship Program.

The competitive program is open to outstanding college-bound students whose parents work for Phillips 66.

Local honorees are:

Cale Davis of Sam Houston High School is attending University of Louisiana at Lafayette majoring in Mechanical Engineering. Cale is the son of Phillips 66 employee Ben Davis.

Sophie Smith of St. Louis Catholic High School is attending Louisiana Tech University majoring in Political Science. Sophie is the daughter of Phillips 66 employee Lisa Smith.

Allie Himel of Lacassine High School is attending McNeese State University majoring in Mathematical Sciences. Allie is the daughter of Phillips 66 employee Reggie Himel.

Jeri E’Lise Vige of DeQuincy High School is attending Louisiana Christian University majoring in Biology/Pre-Med. Jeri is the daughter of Phillips 66 employee Brandon Vige.

Isaac Dupree of South Beauregard High School is attending McNeese State University majoring in Mechanical Engineering. Isaac is the son of Phillips 66 employee Shane Dupree.

Abby Ortego of Jennings High School is attending Louisiana Tech University majoring in Agribusiness with a concentration in plant science. Abby is the daughter of Phillips 66 employee Michael Ortego.

Tate Wainwright of Grand Lake High School is attending Louisiana Tech University majoring in Biomedical Engineering. Tate is the son of Phillips 66 employee Nichole Wainwright.

The scholarships are based on academic excellence, community service and financial need. The award reflects the company’s vision of improving lives and supporting its communities.

McMillin named to president’s list

MISSISSIPPI STATE, Miss — Emily McMillin of Lake Charles was named to the Mississippi State University spring 2024 president’s list.

McMillin is among 4,137 students who have attained this honor. Students on the list achieved a 3.80 or better grade-point average, based on a 4.0 scale, while completing at least 12 semester hours of coursework with no incomplete grades or grades lower than a C.

Dupree earns master’s degree

MISSISSIPPI STATE, Miss. — Alisha Dupree of Sulphur is among nearly 3,500 students graduating from Mississippi State University in spring 2024.

Dupree received the Master of Physician Asst Stud. from MSU’s Academic Affairs.

Pollock earns master’s degree

MACON/ATLANTA, Ga. — Samantha Pollock of Leesville was among graduates recognized during commencement exercises at Mercer University.

Pollock earned a Master of Medical Science from the College of Health Professions.

Two named to dean’s list

LONGVIEW, Texas — Two Southwest Louisiana students have been named to the spring dean’s list at LeTourneau University. They are Gavin Williams of Lake Charles, an electrical and computer engineering major, and Ryan Miller of Pitkin, an aircraft systems major.

The dean’s list recognizes students who have achieved a grade-point average between 3.50 and 3.99 for the semester.

Jones named delegate

SULPHUR — Michael Jones, a ninth-grader at Hamilton Christian, has been named a delegate to the Congress of Future Medical Leaders.

The Congress is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields. The purpose of this event is to honor, inspire, motivate and direct the top students in the country interested in these careers, to stay true to their dream and, after the event, to provide a path, plan and resources to help them reach their goal.

Jones’ nomination was based on his academic achievement, leadership potential and determination to serve humanity in the field of medicine.

Among other honors, he was the Student of the Year (2022-2023) and won first place in Spanish in the regional division of literary rally (2023-2024). He won first place in the school science fair, and proceeded to win first place in the National Energy Education Development, winning him a scholarship to science camp. He is also a member of Union Mission Baptist Church, Senior BETA, and a Student Council Class representative. He spends his free time gardening, reading, gaming, learning Spanish, and playing on the local soccer team.