Perkins elected to Allen Police Jury

Published 10:35 pm Saturday, November 18, 2023

Joe Perkins was elected to the Allen Parish Police Jury District 4 seat on Saturday.

Perkins drew 226 votes, or 52 percent, over challenger Robert Neil Cole, who got 207 votes, or 48 percent, according to complete but unofficial returns from the secretary of state.

The election was held to fill the seat of Creig Vizena, who did not seek re-election.

Email newsletter signup

In the runoff for the District 4 Board of Elementary and Secondary (BESE) seat, Allen Parish voters favored Stacey Melerine with 1,738 votes, or 81 percent over challenger Emma Shepard who got 407 votes, or 19 percent.

District 4 covers eight parishes including Allen and Vernon parishes.

Melanie and Shepard defeated Paige Hoffpauir in the Oct. 14 primary election.

In state runoffs, local voters favored Nancy Landry for Secretary of State.

Landry drew 1,796 votes, or 83 percent over Gwen Collins-Greenup who garnered 362 votes or 17 percent.

For attorney general, voters favored Liz Baker Murrill, who garnered 1,784 votes or 83 percent. Lindsey Cheek drew 371 votes, or 17 percent votes.

In the treasurer’s race, voters favored John Fleming with 1,742 votes or 81 percent. Dustin Granger had 418 votes, or 19 percent.

Voters accepted proposed constitutional amendments 1,2, and 3 and defeated amendment 4.