Lake Charles blanked in rain-shortened I-10 Bowl

Published 3:11 pm Sunday, December 19, 2021

Lightning and heavy rain stopped the Louisiana High School Coaches Association I-10 Bowl at the start of the fourth quarter, but the damage was already done. The Lake Charles All-Stars turned the ball over four times, falling to the Lafayette All-Stars 31-0 at Max Caldarera Memorial Stadium.

Lafayette quarterback Tanner Richardson (St. Martinville) earned MVP honors after throwing two touchdown passes, both to Ethan Guidry (North Vermilion), and completed 4 of 5 passes for 112 yards.

Lake Charles forced a pair of turnovers in the third quarter — a fumble recovery by Chris Simmons (DeQuincy) and Logan Richard’s (Hamilton Christian) interception — but committed three turnovers of its own as heavy rain started to pelt the stadium.

Email newsletter signup

Lafayette held Lake Charles to 81 yards on 49 plays, but Lake Charles had a chance to take control early in the game. Down 3-0, they marched 54 yards on 10 plays, including a 16-yard pass from Trevor Etienne (Jennings) to Tag Stelly (Sulphur). But the drive stalled at the 17-yard line and ended on a missed field goal. Stelly caught two passes for 38 yards, and Caleb Gallashaw (Leesville) ran for 34 yards on eight carries.

Ray Thomas (Washington-Marion) recovered a fumble on Lafayette’s next possession, but Lake Charles couldn’t capitalize on it.

Lafayette scored on its final two possessions of the half on an 19-yard pass from Harrison to Guidry and a 3-yard run by Omiri Wiggins (Acadiana) to take a 24-0 lead into halftime. Wiggins finished with 69 yards on nine carries.

Lafayette got into the red zone on its first possession, but Ian Richard (LC College Prep) sacked Alex Soileau (Cecilia) for a 10-yard loss. Gavin Royer (Carencro) kicked a 29-yard field goal to give Lafayette a 3-0 lead.

Richard finished with eight tackles and was the Lake Charles All-Stars MVP.

Lafayette has won all five editions of the I-10 Bowl dating back to 2016 and won that last meeting 40-10 in 2019.