I-10 Bowl returns after two-year hiatus

Published 5:00 am Monday, December 13, 2021

Its has been two years since the last Louisiana High School Coaches Association I-10 Bowl. The postseason all-star game pitting the top seniors from Lake Charles against Lafayette will finally return.

The game will be played at Westlake High School’s Max Caldarera Memorial Stadium on Saturday at noon. Admission is $10.

“I am not going to say it has been difficult,” regional coordinator Freddie Harrison said. “It is just when you start something back after a two-year absence, there is a lot of things you have to go back anc revisit and it hasn’t been in Lake Charles for four years.

Email newsletter signup

“You have to make sure you put all your ducks in a row and lined up so that the kids can have a great event.

“You want to be competitive and you want opportunities for the kids to compete and win, but again, who is winning? I think every kid that gets to play in that game is winning. Every coach that gets to coach in that game is winning. It is an opportunity to not only represent themselves, but their school and their classification. I think it is a win-win regardless.”

Harris said this year’s Lake Charles All-Stars is loaded with talented players, including several who will play Division I football next year.

“I think this year’s group is very gritty,” Harrison said. “It is a good group.

“A lot of schools in SWLA not play football last year, the curve is little different for those seniors. For them to have the opportunity to play one more game is always the goal and mission of the Louisiana High School Coaches Association. I think we have good representation from the whole area.  A lot of teams didn’t have a lot of seniors this year and we didn’t have a lot of nominations. We gave everyone a shot to be represented.”

The offense will be led by a four 1,000-yard rushers in Leesville’s Caleb Gallashaw, Jennings’ Trevor Etienne, Lake Charles College Prep’s Devonte Guidroz and DeQuincy’s Taije Ceasar, who had nearly 6,000 yards and 88 touchdowns between them this season.

Iowa’s Koltin LeBleu will be under center behind a line that includes three Division I linemen in LCCP’s Reginald Burks (Lamar) and Jaylon Easton (McNeese) and Grand Lake’s Bryant Williams (Louisiana-Lafayette) plus some athletic receivers in LCCP’s Keshlon Jackson, Iowa’s Curtis Deville and Leesville’s Kemhari Pruitt.

Some of the area’s top players on the defensive will be LCCP’s lineman Ian Richard (65 tackles, 12 TFL), Iowa linebacker Ross Denison (121 tackles, 8 TFL) and defensive backs Crajuan Bennett (Iowa, 3 INT, 10 PD), Marcus Duhon (St. Louis, 57 tackles, 3 INT) and Kevin Thomas (LCCP, 80 tackles, 8 TFL, 6 PD).

The Lake Charles team will be coached by former Sulphur head coach and current Westlake assistant Harold Fuselier.

The Lafayette All-Stars have won all four games since the I-10 Bowl started in 2016, including 40-10 in 2019.

Lake Charles All-stars roster


WR Kemhari Pruitt Leesville

WR Keshlon Jackson LCCP

WR Curtis Deville Iowa

TE Kaleb Vizier Sulphur

OL Cody Bertrand Sam Houston

OL Jacob Kershaw Iowa

OL Jaden Smith Jennings

OL Bryant Williams Grand Lake

OL Donovan Henderson Hamilton

OL Reginald Burks LCCP

OL Jaylin Easton LCCP

QB Koltin Lebleu Iowa

RB Tag Stelly Sulphur

RB Caleb Gallashaw Leesville

RB Trevor Etienne Jennings

RB Devonte Guidroz LCCP

ATH Tyree Brown Washington-Marion

ATH Taije Ceasar DeQuincy


DL Javan Thomas Barbe

DL Alex Sims Westlake

DL Seth Longino Oakdale

DL Brett King Grand Lake

DL Ian Richard LCCP

DL Kylan Kelly Sulphur

DL Chris Simmons DeQuincy

LB Nathan Mawae Leesville

LB Ray Thomas Washington-Marion

LB Ross Denison Iowa

LB Hudson Snyder DeQuincy

LB Koen Leblanc Welsh

LB Derrick Williams Hamilton

DB Crajuan Bennett Iowa

DB Marcus Duhon St. Louis

DB Logan Richard Hamilton

DB Kevin Thomas LCCP

Special Teams

K Jose Mijares DeRidder

Coaching Staff

Head coach — Harold Fuselier, Westlake

Defensive coordinator — Brad Kellogg, Westlake

Linebackers — Meshach Worthen, DeRidder

Defensive line — Matt Dufresne, DeQuincy

Defensive back — Troy Gardner, Rosepine

Offensive coordinator — Chad Davis, Sam Houston

Offensive line — James Estes, Jennings

Running backs — Sterling Mobley, Hamilton Christian

Wide receivers — Billy Christian, Iowa