American Press

Thursday, May 25, 2017
Southwest Louisiana ,


Qualifying for April 6 elections ends today

Last Modified: Friday, February 15, 2013 1:41 PM

By Doris Maricle / American Press

Qualifying ends at 5 p.m. today for the April 6 elections in Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Jefferson Davis and Vernon parishes. No elections are slated in Cameron Parish.

Elections for the Jennings City Council seats have been delayed pending U.S. Justice Department approval of a new redistricting plan. The mayoral election will be held as scheduled.

Here is a list of candidates who have qualified as of Thursday, with (I) indicating incumbents:

Allen Parish

Ward 1 justice of the peace — Ricky Mahaffey and Stephen B. Manuel.

Ward 1 constable — “Blackie” LeBlue and Earl Morrow.

Beauregard Parish

District 2 constable — no qualifiers.

Calcasieu Parish

Ward 6 justice of the peace — no qualifiers.

Lake Charles mayor: Randall “Randy” Roach (I).

Lake Charles City Council — District A, Marshall Simien Jr. (I); District B, Lionel H. Taylor and Luvertha August (I); District C, Rodney Geyen (I); District D, John Ieyoub (I); District E, Stuart Weatherford (I); District F, Dana Carl Jackson (I); and District G, Mark Eckard (I).

Vinton mayor — Kenneth Stinson (I).

Vinton council (five at large) — Bliss Bujard (I); William “B.B.” Loyd (I); Richard Huval; Harold Douga (I); Kevin Merchant (I); and Marcus Renfrow.

Vinton police chief — Ricky Fox (I) and Arthur Phillips Sr.

Jefferson Davis Parish

Jennings mayor — Terry Duhon (I) and Marcus Peterson.

Vernon Parish

Councilman of New Llano — Mayur “Mack” Patel and Terry Speicher.

Comment on this article

captcha f5efe0d08cc44d069cff81e7c36a5214

Copyright © 2017 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press