American Press

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Southwest Louisiana ,


Expect long lines on Election Day (with local ballots)

Last Modified: Monday, November 05, 2012 6:31 PM

By Doris Maricle / American Press

Voters should do their homework before going to the polls today to cast ballots for president and other local issues.

“We recognize there is a lot of excitement about the presidential race, but we don’t want voters to overlook other important issues on the ballot,” Calcasieu Parish Clerk of Court Lynn Jones said in a news release.

Ballots in Allen, Beauregard, Cameron, Calcasieu, Jefferson Davis and Vernon parishes will include congressional races, municipal races in some areas and local tax proposals for road improvements, fire protection and courthouse maintenance.

Statewide, the ballot will also include nine proposed constitutional amendments and a local option for term limits for school board members. Term limits will become effective only in those school districts where a majority of the vote is in favor of the proposal.

Polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Voters should bring a driver’s license, a Louisiana special ID or some other generally recognized picture ID that contains their name and signature.

Early voting produced a record turnout, an indication of what could be a larger turnout on Election Day than the 2008 presidential election, Jones said.

In 2008, 82,000 votes were cast during the presidential election in Calcasieu Parish. That total could hit the 90,000 mark in this election, Jones said.

“Because of a high turnout, we are anticipating possible long lines at the precinct,” he said. “We are asking voters to be patient and courteous to other voters and election workers. We are also asking voters to make sure they review the ballot before going to vote.”

“Voters need to realize that there are more than just the presidential and congressional races that they will be making decision on,” he continued. “... By not educating themselves on these other issues, voters will tend to take much longer in the voting booth. Knowing what they will be casting their votes for beforehand will lessen the time it will take to vote, therefore helping to reduce the overall lines on Election Day.”

By law, voters have three minutes to vote.

Voters can go to or download the free geauxvote app for their iphone or android phone. This will give voters information as to whether they are registered, where their voting precinct is located and what is on the ballot.

Voters should try to vote during non-peak hours — mid-morning and mid-afternoon — to help alleviate lines in the peak hours, Jones said.

Here is a parish-by-parish list:


• U.S. representative, 4th congressional district: John Fleming and Randall Lord.

• School Board member District 3: Phyllis Johnson; Kenneth W. “Hammer” Miller; Bobby Odom and Steven Sumbler.

• Oakdale mayor: Andrew Hayes (I); John Matte and Gene Paul.

• Oakdale council, District 2: Fredrick “Pos” Douglas and Treva Maricle.

• Oakdale council, District 3: Robert Loman (I) and Ervin Willis Sr.

• Oberlin alderman, District 3: Linda “Whip” Boulden and Benny R. Manuel.

• Oberlin alderman at large: Wayne Courville and Ricky D. Mahaffey.

• The Allen Parish Police Jury is seeking voter approval of a 10-year, 4-mill maintenance tax for the Allen Parish courthouse and jail. The tax helps cover the cost of maintenance, insurance, utilities and repairs for all parish buildings and offices, including the courthouse complex. It will generate $308,000 annually.

• The Police Jury is also seeking continuance of  a 10-year, 5.30-mill maintenance tax for roads and bridges in Road District 5 in the Oakdale area. It is a .18-mill increase over the current 5.12 mills. It would generate $140,000 annually.

• Allen Parish Fire District No. 6 is seeking voter approval to issue $400,000 in 15-year general obligation bonds. Interest rates on the bonds will be paid off with ad valorem taxes of about four mills. The money will be used to buy communication equipment, two brush trucks, bunker gear, a vehicle for the fire chief and other items needed by the department, according to Fire District Board President Richard Earl. The district serves the rural areas of Ward 5, excluding the city limits of Oakdale and Elizabeth.


• U.S representative, 4th congressional district: John Fleming and Randall Lord.

• Merryville police chief: Joey L. Hood and Craig Lanier.


• U.S representative, 3rd congressional district: Bryan Barrilleaux, Charles W. Boustany Jr., Jeff Landry, Ron Richard and Jim Stark.

• Calcasieu Parish Police Jury is seeking renewal of a 10-year, 1.5-mill tax for operating, maintaining and improving Burton Coliseum and funding other agricultural and community services. It will generate $2.3 million annually.

• Calcasieu Parish, Fire Protection District No. 1, Ward 1 is seeking renewal of a 10-year, 7-mill tax for acquiring, constructing, improving, maintaining or operating fire protection or emergency medical service facilities, vehicles and equipment, including salaries and benefits, cost of obtaining water, communication, equipment, uniforms, other materials and supplies, fire hydrant rentals and service, fuel, insurance and maintenance for vehicles and equipment, insurance, utilities and upkeep of buildings and grounds, and all other maintenance and operating costs. It will generate $399,633 annually.

• Calcasieu Parish, Fire Protection District No. 2, Ward 4 is seeking renewal of a 10-year, 8.5-mill tax for maintaining, operating, and developing fire protection facilities, purchasing fire trucks and other fire fighting equipment and acquiring, improving and constructing fire protection facilities. It will generate $1.1 million annually.

• Vinton wants to continue a 10-year, half-penny sales tax to fund street overlay projects and the town’s fire department, to include maintenance of buildings and equipment. It generates about $168,611 annually.


• U.S representative, 3rd congressional district: Bryan Barrilleaux; Charles W. Boustany Jr.; Jeff Landry; Ron Richard; and Jim Stark.

• Constable Justice of the Peace Ward 4: Eric LeBoeuf and John “Buck” Stephenson.


• U.S representative, 3rd congressional district: Ron Richard; Bryan Barilleaux; Charles W. Boustany Jr.; Jeff Landry and Jim Stark.

• Welsh mayor: Carolyn Louviere and Colby Perry.

• Welsh alderman (5 to be elected): Allen Ardoin; M.J. Doucet; Charles Drake; Hugh Fruge; Becky Hudson; Robert “Bob” Owens; Marcus S. Prudhomme and Gloria Viney.

• Welsh police chief: Tommy Chaisson and Marcus Crochet.

• Fenton alderman (3 to be elected): Eddie Alfred Sr.;  “Curtis Red” Dickens; LaToya Johnson; Mary Jones and Clifford Brian Leday.

• The Police Jury is seeking renewal of a 10-year, 9.9-mills tax for Jefferson Davis Central Waterworks District, north of  Welsh. The money will be used for maintenance and operation of the district. It will bring in $435,600 annually.


• U.S representative, 4th congressional district: John Fleming and Randall Lord.

• Anacoco mayor: Keith Lewing and Archie Martin.

• Anacoco council members (3 to be elected): Chester “C.W.” Dowden; Shane Freeman; LaVerne Miers and Mark Phillips.

• Simpson mayor: Donnis Brinkley and Robert “Bob” Green.

2012 Ballot

Comment on this article

captcha 09b2bf6f672c4a58b1787a87b4534646

Copyright © 2017 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press