American Press

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Southwest Louisiana ,

SEC expands baseball tournament to 12 teams, 5 days

Last Modified: Friday, December 21, 2012 12:48 PM

HOOVER Ala. (AP) — The Southeastern Conference has added two teams and a fifth day to the baseball tournament.

Commissioner Mike Slive announced Friday that the field will expand to 12 teams in the 14-team league starting in 2013 in Hoover, Ala.

The top four seeds will earn a bye in the double-elimination tournament, which starts on May 21. The rest will play that Tuesday with the winners advancing.

The two division champions and other top four seeds have a chance to earn another bye in the tournament, which returns to single elimination on Saturday.

The total number of games played remains at 17, capped by Sunday's championship.

The SEC has won national titles in three of the last four seasons and had teams advance to the National Championship Series five straight years.

Comment on this article

captcha 91eea1238090403285b6e0e9c63566f3

Copyright © 2016 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press