American Press

Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Southwest Louisiana ,

Election Roundup: Complete results for all of Southwest Louisiana

Last Modified: Monday, April 08, 2013 9:33 AM

From staff reports

Municipal elections in Lake Charles, Vinton and Jennings, property tax issues and special elections to fill constable and justice of the peace seats were the highlight of Saturday's election in Southwest Louisiana.

The unofficial results are listed below. There will be a run-off in a few of the local races, including the races for Vinton Police Chief and the District A seat on the Lake Charles City Council.

For more on today's election, including comments from some of the winners, pick up a copy of Sunday's American Press.

Southwest Louisiana Results

Allen Parish

Justice of the peace, Ward 1 — Rodney Botley; Ricky Mahaffey and Stephen B. Manuel. Winner: Stephen B. Manuel (47.2 percent) and Ricky Mahaffey (36.5 percent) in run-off.

Constable, Ward 1 — ‘‘Blackie’’ LeBlue and Earl Morrow. Winner: "Blackie" LeBlue (79.6 percent).

Beauregard Parish

Constable District 2 — Kenneth “Ken” Evans and Leonard ‘‘Pard’’ Stark. Winner: Leonard ‘‘Pard’’ Stark (93.2 percent).

Voters in Fire Protection District 4 were asked to continue a 15-year, 24.52 mill for improvement to fire department facilities in the rural areas of DeRidder. The millage represents a 1.52 percent increase over the 23 mills previously levied. Result: Passed 68.3 to 31.6 percent.

Calcasieu Parish

Lake Charles City Council District A — Kecee Lewis, Mary Morris and Marshall Simien Jr. (incumbent). Result: Mary Morris (35.2 percent) and Marshall Simien Jr. (38.2 percent) in run-off.

Lake Charles City Council B — Luvertha August (incumbent) and Lionel H. Taylor. Winner: Luvertha August (82.1 percent)

Lake Charles City Council G — Mark Eckard (incumbent) and Khalid Taha. Winner: Mark Eckard (70 percent).

Vinton Tow Council (five at large) — Bliss Bujard (incumbent); Harold Douga (incumbent); Richard Huval; William “B.B.” Loyd (incumbent); Kevin Merchant (incumbent); Paul Patin (incumbent) and Marcus Renfrow. Winners: Bliss Bujard (16.3 percent), William “B.B.” Loyd (16.3 percent), Paul Patin (16.2 percent), Kevin Merchant (15.7 percent) and Marcus Renfrow (14.7 percent).

Vinton Police Chief — Ricky Fox (incumbent); Chad Ivery Perry and Arthur Phillips Sr. Result: Ricky Fox (36.8 percent) and Arthur Phillips Sr. (32.9 percent) will have a run-off.

A proposal to allow the City of Lake Charles to work with a developer to build a hotel at the Civic Center and use the taxes from hotel operations to pay for a portion of the cost of the hotel or other public improvements located in the lakefront area. The measure would have allowed a private-public partnership to be formed that will lead to the construction of a $19 million, 150-room Hyatt Place Hotel next to the Civic Center, according to Mayor Randy Roach. Result: Failed 53.3 to 46.6 percent.

The Calcasieu Parish School Board was seeking a $13.2 million bond issue for improvements in School District No. 25 of Iowa and a $10 million bond issue for School District No. 26 in Vinton. Result: Passed 79.5 to 20.4 percent.

School District No. 30 in Sulphur was seeking separate bond issues for acquiring and improving land for buildings and playgrounds and renovations and improvements to the football stadium and athletic facilities at Sulphur High School. The first is for a $4.6 bond issue and the second is for a $5.2 million bond issue. Results: Bond for buildings and playgrounds passed 52.7 to 47.2 percent. Bond for football stadium and athletic facilities failed 50.0 to 49.9 percent or only two votes.

Calcasieu Parish voters were asked to approve a 10-year, 4.06 mill for maintenance and operation of roads and drainage. It will generate $6.7 million annually. Results: Passed 69.0 to 30.9 percent.

A second measure, for a 10-year, 3.49 mill for maintenance and operation of the Juvenile Detention Center and Juvenile Probation Office. It will generate $5.7 million annually. Result: Passed 66.8 to 33.1 percent.

A 10-year, 2.48 millage renewal was sought for the Calcasieu Parish Health Unit. It will generate $4 million annually for maintenance and operation. Result: Passed 67.9 to 32.0 percent.

The City of Sulphur was seeking renewal of separate 10-year, 5 mill for fire department and street improvements. Both will generate $587,221. Results: Renewal for fire department passes 65.6 to 34.4 percent, renewal for street improvements passes 65.0 to 34.9 percent.

Jefferson Davis Parish

Jennings Mayor — Terry Duhon (incumbent) and Marcus Peterson. Winner: Terry Duhon (55.9 percent).

Vernon Parish

Councilman of New Llano — Bruce Harris, Mayur ‘‘Mack’’ Patel and Terry Speicher. Winner: Terry Speicher (70.5 percent).

Comment on this article

captcha 0da3085507fe4efb8a0a9f4e04024efa

Copyright © 2017 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press