American Press

Sunday, April 30, 2017
Southwest Louisiana ,


Qualifying for April 6 vote starts Wednesday

Last Modified: Monday, February 11, 2013 5:39 PM

By Doris Maricle / American Press

Municipal elections start taking shape Wednesday as qualifying begins for the April 6 primary elections in Southwest Louisiana.

Special elections are scheduled for justice of the peace and constable seats in Allen Parish, a constable in Beauregard Parish and justice of the peace in Calcasieu Parish. A special election is also being held to fill an unexpired term for a councilman in New Llano.

Candidates can go to the Clerk of Court’s Office in each parish to qualify 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday and 8:30-5 p.m. Friday.

The ballot will also include several propositions in Calcasieu Parish, including a proposal to allow the city of Lake Charles to develop and finance a hotel with sales tax revenues.

The Calcasieu Parish School Board is seeking a $13.2 million bond issue for School District No. 25 in Iowa and a $10 million bond issue for School District No. 26 in Vinton. School District No. 30 in Sulphur is also seeking separate bond issues for acquiring and improving land for buildings and playgrounds and renovations and improvements to the football stadium and athletic facilities at Sulphur High School.

Calcasieu Parish voters are being asked to approve renewals for maintenance and operation of roads and drainage, juvenile justice services and the health unit.

The city of Sulphur is seeking renewal of separate millages for street and fire department improvements.

In Beauregard Parish, voters in Fire Protection District 4 will be asked to continue a millage for improvement to fire department facilities.

There are no elections scheduled for Cameron Parish.

Early voting for the election will be 8:30 a.m.-6 p.m. March 23-30 at Registrar of Voters offices.

Voting Ballot

Allen Parish

• Justice of the peace Ward 1.

Constable Ward 1.

Beauregard Parish

Constable District 2.

Calcasieu Parish

Justice of the peace Ward 6

Mayor and seven council members of Lake Charles.

Mayor, five council members and police chief of Vinton.

Jefferson Davis Parish

Mayor and five council members of Jennings.

Vernon Parish

Councilman of New Llano.

Comment on this article

captcha 807fc974b1424a108df9f7a61d79bc5c

Copyright © 2017 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press