Southwest Louisiana residents head to polls today

By By Doris Maricle / American Press

Municipal elections in Lake Charles, Vinton and Jennings, property tax issues and special elections to fill constable and justice of the peace seats highlight today’s election ballots across Southwest Louisiana.

Voters in Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Jefferson Davis and Vernon parishes can cast ballots from 7 a.m.-8 p.m. at their local precincts.

Voters should bring a driver’s license, a Louisiana special ID or some other generally recognized picture ID.

In addition to municipal elections, a special councilman race is slated in New Llano. Special elections are being held for

justice of the peace and constables in Allen and Beauregard parishes.

Beauregard and Calcasieu also have propositions for fire protection, school improvements and maintenance of roads, among others.

There are no elections in Cameron Parish.

Southwest Louisiana Ballots

Here is a list of ballot items in Southwest Louisiana:

Allen Parish

l Justice of the peace, Ward 1 — Rodney Botley; Ricky Mahaffey and Stephen B. Manuel.

l Constable, Ward 1 — ‘‘Blackie’’ LeBlue and Earl Morrow.

Both elections are being held due to deaths.

Beauregard Parish

l Constable District 2 — Kenneth “Ken” Evans and Leonard ‘‘Pard’’ Stark.

The election is being held due to the resignation of former constable Michael Whitehead, who served the Merryville area.

l Voters in Fire Protection District 4 will be

asked to continue a 15-year, 24.52 mill for improvement to fire


facilities in the rural areas of DeRidder. The millage represents a

1.52 percent increase over the 23 mills previously levied.

It will generate $393,000 annually.

Calcasieu Parish

l Lake Charles City Council District A — Kecee Lewis, Mary Morris and Marshall Simien Jr. (incumbent).

l Lake Charles City Council B — Luvertha August (incumbent) and Lionel H. Taylor.

l Lake Charles CIty Council G — Mark Eckard (incumbent) and Khalid Taha.

l Vinton Tow Council (five at large) — Bliss Bujard (incumbent); Harold Douga (incumbent); Richard Huval; William “B.B.” Loyd

(incumbent); Kevin Merchant (incumbent); Paul Patin (incumbent) and Marcus Renfrow.

l Vinton Police Chief — Ricky Fox (incumbent); Chad Ivery Perry and Arthur Phillips Sr.

l A proposal to allow the City of Lake Charles

to work with a developer to build a hotel at the Civic Center and use

the taxes

from hotel operations to pay for a portion of the cost of the

hotel or other public improvements located in the lakefront

area. The measure would allow a private-public partnership to be

formed that will lead to the construction of a $19 million,

150-room Hyatt Place Hotel next to the Civic Center, according to

Mayor Randy Roach.

l The Calcasieu Parish School Board is seeking a $13.2 million bond issue for improvements in School District No. 25 of Iowa

and a $10 million bond issue for School District No. 26 in Vinton.

l School District No. 30 in Sulphur is also

seeking separate bond issues for acquiring and improving land for

buildings and

playgrounds and renovations and improvements to the football

stadium and athletic facilities at Sulphur High School. The first

is for a $4.6 bond issue and the second is for a $5.2 million bond


l Calcasieu Parish voters are being asked to approve a 10-year, 4.06 mill for maintenance and operation of roads and drainage.

It will generate $6.7 million annually.

l A second measure, is for a 10-year, 3.49 mill for maintenance and operation of the Juvenile Detention Center and Juvenile

Probation Office. It will generate $5.7 million annually.

l A 10-year, 2.48 millage renewal is also being

sought for the Calcasieu Parish Health Unit. It will generate $4

million annually

for maintenance and operation.

l The City of Sulphur is seeking renewal of separate 10-year, 5 mill for street and fire department improvements. Both will

generate $587,221.

Jefferson Davis Parish

l Jennings Mayor — Terry Duhon (incumbent) and Marcus Peterson.

l Elections for Jennings city councilmen were postponed until the city’s new redistricting plan is approved by the U.S. Justice


Vernon Parish

l Councilman of New Llano — Bruce Harris, Mayur

‘‘Mack’’ Patel and Terry Speicher. The election is being held due to

the resignation

of former councilman Anthony Boswell who resigned last August.