Local candidates sign up for April 6 election

By By Doris Maricle / American Press

Candidates seeking public office in five Southwest Louisiana parishes began signing up Wednesday for the April 6 election.

Qualifying for local races continues 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. today and 8:30-5 p.m. Friday at clerk of court offices.

Elections for the Jennings City Council have been delayed pending U.S. Justice Department approval of a new redistricting

plan. The Jennings mayoral election will be held as scheduled.

There are no elections slated in Cameron Parish.

Here is a list of candidates who have qualified as of Wednesday, with (I) indicating incumbents:

Allen Parish

Ward 1 justice of the peace — Ricky Mahaffey and Stephen B. Manuel.

Ward 1 constable — “Blackie” LeBlue and Earl Morrow.

Beauregard Parish

District 2 constable — no qualifiers.

Calcasieu Parish

Ward 6 justice of the peace — no qualifiers.

Lake Charles mayor: Randall “Randy” Roach (I).

Lake Charles City Council — District

A, Marshall Simien Jr. (I); District B, Luvertha August (I); District

C, Rodney Geyen

(I); District D, John Ieyoub (I); District E, Stuart Weatherford

(I); District F, Dana Carl Jackson (I); and District G, Mark

Eckard (I).

Vinton mayor — Kenneth Stinson (I).

Vinton council (five at large): Harold Douga (I), Kevin Merchant (I) and Marcus Renfrow.

Vinton police chief — Ricky Fox (I) and Arthur Phillips Sr.

Jefferson Davis Parish

Jennings mayor — Terry Duhon (I) and Marcus Peterson.

Vernon Parish

Councilman of New Llano — Terry Speicher.