Unopposed candidates declared winners

By By Doris Maricle / American Press

Several races were decided Friday as a number of candidates were elected or re-elected outright after no one else qualified

to run against them in the April 5 elections:


Six candidates for DeRidder City

Council — including five incumbents — were declared elected unopposed at

the end of the three-day

qualifying period.

They are District 2 councilwoman Faith Buckley Scott; District 3 councilman Gordon C. Jenkins; District 4 councilwoman Elizabeth

S. Granger; District 5 councilman Keith Hopper; and two at-large members, Vincent LaBue and Hayward Steele.

Scott, Jenkins, Granger, LaBue and Steele are incumbents.

In Merryville, David Eaves was elected

without opposition as the town’s new mayor after Mayor Larry Carroll did

not seek re-election.

Michael H. Stelly was the only

candidate to sign up as the next police chief. Police Chief Craig Lanier

did not seek re-election.

Returning unopposed to the Merryville Town Council will be Amanda Pointer, Mark Wayne Allen, Alton Bennett, Beaver B. Knighton

and Mance M. Stark.


In Sulphur, incumbent District 5 councilman Stuart Moss was re-elected outright.


In New Llano, Mayor Freddie Boswell was elected without opposition to a fifth term. Police Chief Danny D. Hunt was re-elected

to a third term.