Barbe dominates All-Southwest Louisiana big schools team

By By Warren Arceneaux / American Press

Big offensive numbers were a staple for Barbe this season as they rampaged their way to the Class 5A high school football state

championship game.

That trend continues with the American Press All-Southwest Louisiana big schools team, as the Bucs place five offensive players on the team.

The Bucs also earned two of the three individual awards, with quarterback Kennon Fontenot receiving the Offensive Most Valuable

Player award and Mike Cutrera the Coach of the Year honor after leading the Bucs to a 13-2 season.

The Defensive MVP is Tirell Wellmaker of LaGrange, who made 108 tackles and intercepted 12 passes while leading the Gators

to the Class 4A quarterfinals.

Fontenot threw for 4,294 yards, ran for 663 and accounted for 55 touchdowns. He is joined by receiver Trey Quinn (115 rec.,

2,141 yds., 26 TDs), tight end Desean Smith (46-815, 11 touchdowns), running back Courtney Galentine (1,095 yards rushing,

750 rec. yards, 20 total TDs) and offensive lineman Tanner Hooper.

Rounding out the offense are running

backs Tyler Guillory (1,098 yds., 17 TDs) of LaGrange and Latrell Martin

of Westlake

(1,132 yds., 14 TDs); receiver Demond Delahoussaye of

Washington-Marion (750 yds., 7 TDs) and linemen Curtis Killian of


Keijan Levi of Jennings, T.J. January of Iowa and Alex Goodley of

LaGrange. The athlete is Iowa’s Austin Theriot (979 passing

yds., 743 rushing yds., 23 TDs).

Joining Wellmaker are a pair of

teammates, lineman Mackenzie Lewis (78 tackles, 12 sacks) and defensive

back Charles Wilridge

(94 tackles). The other linemen are Logan Austin of Iowa (70

tackles, 8 sacks), Devin Pharris of Westlake (55 tackles) and Chris

Crosley (90 tackles, 11 sacks) of DeRidder.

Linebackers are Isaac Roberts (77 tackles, 6 sacks) and Melvin Jones (89 tackles, 7 sacks) of Washington-Marion, Keaton Bertrand

(76 tackles, 1 INT) of Jennings and Evan Campbell (85 tackles) of Sam Houston.

In the secondary are Keagen Deville (8 INTs, 4 TDs) of Jennings and Sam Ford (5 INTs) of DeRidder.

Specialists are punter Alex Kjellsten (46.8 avg.) of St. Louis, kicker Jamie McGee (14 FGs) of Barbe and return specialist

Chaz Key (5 TDs) of Iowa.