American Press

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Southwest Louisiana ,
(Rick Hickman / American Press)

(Rick Hickman / American Press)

Local law enforcement awards announced

Last Modified: Friday, May 17, 2013 6:25 PM

Special to the American Press

As part of National Police Week, local law enforcement honored their officers this week with yearly awards.

Both the Lake Charles Police Department and the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office named officers and deputies of 2012 and gave out several other awards.

Lt. Nathan Keller was given the Chief’s Award as the Lake Charles Police Department’s Officer of the Year.

Sgt. Ryan Mareno was named the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office Deputy of the Year.

The Sheriff’s Office held its ceremony Tuesday and Lake Charles Police held its banquet Thursday night.

Mareno has worked in law enforcement for 18 years, 11 of those with the Sheriff’s Office, Kim Myers, CPSO spokeswoman, said. Previously a patrol supervisor in enforcement, he is now the dive team supervisor in the office’s marine division. He also teaches at CPSO’s training academy.

Keller started as a patrol officer with the Lake Charles Police Department in 1988, Deputy Chief Mark Kraus said. After reaching patrol supervisor, he transferred to the department’s detective division and now works in community policing.

The Sheriff’s Office also named nine departmental deputies of the year: Cpl. Benjamin Hare, enforcement; Sgt. Ryan Mareno, enforcement security; Det. Sgt. William “Billy” Wilcox, Investigations; Sgt. Ben Angerstein, Jr., programs; Hancel Hedrick, financial; Thomas Mefford, civil; Ida Lynell Benoit, special services; Cynthia Roberts, correctional; and Det. Sgt. David Doucett, law enforcement centers.

Tammy Lavergne, human resources, was named Support Employee of the Year and Sr. Cpl. Grant Strenth was given the Eric Bellard Pride Award.

The Lake Charles Police Department named Cpl. Ben Randolph as patrol officer of the year, Sgt. Charles Welch as SRT officer of the year, Cpl. Hope Sanders as investigator of the year, and Sgt. Kevin Jones as supervisor of the year.

Officer Tony Ryan Magee was named rookie of the year, Christy Mitchell was named oustanding citizen of the year and records clerk Mary Bradley was named support employee of the year.

Valor awards were given to Cpl. Corporal Ben Randolph, Cpl. Cody LeBlanc, Officer David Wagoner, Sgt. Cheryl Leichliter, Officer Kyle Young and Cpl. Mitch Sawyer.

Merit awards were given to Cpl. Jeff Atkinson, Communications Officer Staci Conner, Sgt. Rickey Miller, Cpl. Larry Moss, Cpl. Greg Single, Cpl. Larry Newingham and Secretary to the Chief of Police Candi Heard McFatter.

Civilian Ted Oliver received the department’s humanitarian award and Sgt. Kirk Carroll received the Candi Heard McFatter Award of Professionalism.

• • •

Staff Writer Johnathan Manning contributed to this report.

Comment on this article

captcha 0451ecb0efad4e8cb0ffe7a7608c6ac2

Copyright © 2017 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press