American Press

Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Southwest Louisiana ,
The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy held its graduation Wednesday morning. (Rick Hickman / Special to the American Press)

The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy held its graduation Wednesday morning. (Rick Hickman / Special to the American Press)

Law Enforcement Training Academy graduates 46 students

Last Modified: Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:08 PM

Special to the American Press

Forty-six people became certified peace officers Wednesday during the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy’s 103rd Basic Academy graduation.

The officers — from 16 agencies — passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Testing exam. Forty-four of them completed 320 hours of instruction in basic law enforcement; two officers completed a 90-hour refresher course.

John Hollier of the Lake Charles Police Department was chosen as class president. Kimberly Juneau of the Jeff Davis Sheriff’s Office received the highest scholastic average honor.

John Hollier, Carlos Spina and Bradley Puckett, all of the Lake Charles Police Department, received first-, second- and third-place firearms awards. Jerod Abshire of the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office was awarded the Defensive Tactics Honor.

Officers who completed basic instruction: Jerod Abshire, Kay Authement, Tori Boone, Ron Castille, Joshua Fontenot, Joshua Neal, Michael Richard, Matthew Saxby, William Vaughan, Alexander Vincent, Timothy Walls Jr., David Webster and Benjamin White, Calcasieu Sheriff’s Office; Tyler Gaston, John Hollier, Travis Melancon, Bradley Puckett, Preston Ross, Summer Sizemore, Carlos Spina, Stefanie Veillon and David Wagoner, Lake Charles Police Department; Garrett Beeson and Timothy Burgess, Allen Parish Sheriff’s Office; Steven Darrah and James Shaneck, Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office; Sooner Huddleston and Lester Whatley, Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Office; Gene Clark, Kevin Ray and Samantha Warren, DeRidder Police Department; Jeanne Joubert and Joshua Stelly, Eunice Police Department; Russell Jimenez, Iowa Police Department; Kimberly Juneau and Tyler Parsley, Jeff Davis Sheriff’s Office; Christopher Bergeaux, Jennings Police Department; Sam Kayal, Lake Charles Harbor Police Department; interim Chief Jason Lanier and Michael Stelly, Merryville Police Department; Kevin Froehlick, Brandon Johnson and Jerry Giles, Oakdale Police Department; Justin Guillotte, Sulphur Police Department; Trevor Foreman, Welsh Police Department; and David Lyons, Westlake Police Department.

Eric Nunez of the Cameron Sheriff’s Office and Elijah Williams, DeRidder police, completed refresher courses.

The training academy, established in 1974, provides accredited training to law enforcement agencies in the five-parish area.

Comment on this article

captcha 908f75efb115408f8cc699833d31247e

Copyright © 2017 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press