American Press

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Southwest Louisiana ,
(Rick Hickman / Special to the American Press)

(Rick Hickman / Special to the American Press)

Lady Broncos win playoff opener in straight sets

Last Modified: Friday, November 02, 2012 12:04 AM

By Warren Arceneaux / American Press

MOSS BLUFF — A little tinkering to the rotation paid off for the Sam Houston Broncos in a win over Academy of Our Lady Thursday in the first round of the Division II volleyball playoffs.

The Broncos (19-18) won 25-15, 25-16, 31-29 to advance to the regional round. No. 13 Sam Houston will travel to play at No. 4 St. Scholastica in the next round.

Against Our Lady, the Broncos played a two-setter system, which the team had used only occasionally during the regular season.

“The girls did well. We minimized hitting errors even though we still had a number of serving errors,” said Broncos head coach Rene Fontenot. “It was a new rotation we just started. We tried to work a two-setter system to give us three hitters in the front row at all times. That put us with a freshman and sophomore out there, but they did well.

“We are getting a lot of good experience this year. This playoff experience is going to be a positive and hopefully we will be able to build on it. They are coachable kids who try to do what we ask.”

Carleigh Chaumont led the Broncos with 10 kills, a block and four aces. Maddie Guillory added six kills and three aces. Sam Trahan had six kills and two blocks.

The Broncos pulled way late in each of the first two sets, closing the first with a 7-2 flourish, the second with a 5-1 burst. In the final game, the Penguins rallied from a 19-15 deficit and served for the game with a 29-28 lead, but Chaumont tied the game with a kill and finished it off with an ace as the Broncos scored the final three points.

Madison Stein had an ace and three kills for Our Lady (13-19). Megan Dang had three aces and a kill.

St. Scholastica defeated the Broncos at the Newman tournament on Oct. 20. Fontenot said she hopes familiarity will help the Broncos.

“Sometimes it is the fear of the unknown that makes them apprehensive,” said Fontenot. “We have seen them, I think we will feel better.”

Bi-District Results

Division I

No. 1 Mount Carmel, bye
No. 17 Lafayette def. No. 16 New Iberia, 3-0
No. 9 Destrehan def. No.24 Chalmette, 3-0
No. 8 H.L. Bourgoeis, bye
No. 5 Dominican, bye
No. 12 Zachary def. No. 21 Hahnville, 3-1
No. 13 Archbishop Chapelle def. No. 20 Denham Springs, 3-0
No. 4 St. Joseph’s, bye
No. 3 Fontainebleau, bye
No. 14 Comeaux def. No. 19 Terrebonne, 3-1
No. 11 Covington def. No.22 Ponchatoula, 3-0
No. 6 Barbe, bye
No. 7 East Ascension, bye
No. 10 Northshore def. No. 23 Acadiana, 3-0
No. 18 Dutchtown def. No. 15 Woodlawn-Baton Rouge, 3-0
No. 2 St. Amant, bye

Division II

No. 1 St. Thomas More, bye
No. 17 Tara def. No. 16 Leesville, 3-1
No. 9 O.P. Walker def. No. 24 E. Jefferson 3-0
No. 8 Belle Chasse, bye
No. 5, Cabrini, bye
No. 21 Central-Baton Rouge at No. 12 Morgan City
No. 13 Sam Houston def. No. 20 Academy of Our Lady
No. 4 St. Scholastica, bye
No. 3 Breaux Bridge, bye
No. 14 Karr def. No. 19 Belaire, 3-1
No. 11 St. Michael def. No. 22 Pearl River, 3-0
No. 6 Assumption, bye
No. 7 Lutcher, bye
No. 10 McKinley def. No. 23 Broadmoor, 3-0
No. 18 Salmen def. No. 15 South Terrebonne, 3-0
No. 2 St Martinville, bye

Division III

No. 1 Ursuline Academy
No. 16 Westlake def. No. 17 Evangel, 3-0
No. 24 Loranger at No. 9 Lakeshore
No. 8 Parkview Baptist, bye
No. 5 St. Louis, bye
No. 12 Cecilia def. No. 21 West Feliciana, 3-0
No. 13 Iowa def. No. 20 Xavier Prep, 3-0
No. 4 Ben Franklin, bye
No. 3 Teurlings Catholic, bye
No. 14 Haynes Academy def. No. 19 Berwick, 3-0
No. 11 Lusher Charter def. No. 22 Church Point, 3-0
No. 6 Vandebilt Catholic, bye
No. 7 Rayne, bye
No. 10 Brusly def No. 23 Loyola Prep, 3-0
No. 15 DeQuincy def. No. 18 N. Vermilion 3-1
No. 2 E.D. White, bye

Division IV

No. 1 Notre Dame, bye
No. 16 Port Allen def. No. 17 W. St. Mary, 3-1
No. 9 McGehee def. No. 24 No. 24 Pope John Paul II, 3-0
No. 8 Runnels, bye
No. 5 John Curtis, bye
No. 12 St. Thomas Aquinas def. No. 21 No. 21 Redemptorist, 3-0
No. 13 Episcopal def. No. 20 Fisher, 3-0
No. 4 University, bye
No. 3 Newman, bye
No. 14 Northlake Christian def. No. 19 Dunham, 3-1
No. 22 St. Mary’s at Sacred Heart-New Orleans
No. 6 Iota, bye
No. 7 Riverside, bye
No. 10 Catholic-New Iberia def. No. 23 No. 23 Springfield, 3-0
No. 15 Thomas Jefferson def. No. 18 No. 18 St. Charles, 3-0
No. 2 DeLaSalle, bye

Division V

No. 1 Episcopal of Acadiana, bye
No. 16 White Castle def. No. 17 Patrick Taylor, 3-1
No. 9 Sacred Heart-GC def. No. 24 W. St. John, 3-0
No. 8 Catholic-Pointe Coupee, bye
No. 5 Ascension Episcopal
No. 21 Family Christian at No. 12 Northside Christian
No. 13 First Baptist Christian def. No. 20 Westminster, 3-0
No. 4 St. John, bye
No. 3 Central Catholic, bye
No. 19 Christian Life def. No. 14 Ecole Classique, 3-1
No. 22 Crescent City at No. 11 Archbishop Hannan
No. 6 St. Martin’s, bye
No. 7 Ascension Christian, bye
No. 10 Ascension Catholic 3, No. 23 False River, 3-0
No. 18 Delcambre def. No. 15 Lafayette Christian, 3-0
No. 2 Country Day, bye

Regional Round Pairings

Division I

No. 17 Lafayette at No. 1 Mount Carmel
No. 9 Destrehan at No. 8 H.L. Bourgeois
No. 12 Zachary at No. 5 Dominican
No. 13 Chapelle at No. 4 St. Joseph’s
No. 14 Comeaux at No. 3 Fontainebleau
No. 11 Covington at No. 6 Barbe, 5 p.m. Monday
No. 18 Dutchtown at No. 2 St. Amant

Division II

No. 17 Tara at No. 1 St. Thomas More
No. 9 O.P. Walker at No. 8 Belle Chasse
No. 21 Central-No. 12 Morgan City winner at No. 5 Cabrini
No. 13 Sam Houston at No. 4 St. Scholastica
No. 14 Karr at No. 3 Breaux Bridge
No. 11 St. Michael at No. 6 Assumption
No. 10 McKinley at No. 7 Lutcher
No. 18 Salmen at No. 2 St. Martinville

Division III

No. 16 Westlake at No. 1 Ursuline Academy
No. 9 Lakeshore-No. 24 Loranger winner at No. 8 Parkview Baptist
No. 12 Cecilia at No. 5 St. Louis, 6 p.m. Monday
No. 13 Iowa at No. 4 Ben Franklin, 4:30 p.m.
No. 14 Haynes Academy at No. 3 Teurlings Catholic
No. 11 Lusher Charter at No. 6 Vandebilt Catholic
No. 10 Brusly at No. 7 Rayne
No. 15 DeQuincy at No. 2 E.D. White, 5:30 p.m., Monday

Division IV

No. 16 Port Allen at No. 1 Notre Dame
No. 9 McGehee at No. 8 Runnels
No. 12 St. Thomas Aquinas at No. 5 John Curtis
No. 13 Episcopal at No. 4 University
No. 14 Northlake Christian at No. 3 Newman
No. 22 St. Mary’s-No.11 Sacred Heart-NO winner at No. 6 Iota
No. 10 Catholic-NI at No. 7 Riverside
No. 15 Thomas Jefferson at No. 2 DeLaSalle

Division V

No. 16 White Castle at No. 1 Episcopal of Acadiana
No. 9 Sacred Heart-GC at No. 8 Catholic-PC
No. 21 Family Christian at No. 12 Northside Christian winner at No. 5 Ascension Catholic
No. 13 First Baptist Christian at No. 4 St. John
No. 19 Christian Life at No. 3 Central Catholic
No. 11 Hannan at No. 6 St. Martin’s
No. 10 Ascension Catholic at No. 7 Ascension Christian
No. 18 Delcambre at No. 2 Country Day

Comment on this article

captcha 2f3f52628e2b49b1b08c01ee825a0b06

Copyright © 2017 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press