American Press

Wednesday, April 01, 2015
Southwest Louisiana ,
| Share |
(American Press Archives)

(American Press Archives)

Unopposed candidates declared winners

Last Modified: Saturday, February 15, 2014 1:05 PM

By Doris Maricle / American Press

Several races were decided Friday as a number of candidates were elected or re-elected outright after no one else qualified to run against them in the April 5 elections:


Six candidates for DeRidder City Council — including five incumbents — were declared elected unopposed at the end of the three-day qualifying period.

They are District 2 councilwoman Faith Buckley Scott; District 3 councilman Gordon C. Jenkins; District 4 councilwoman Elizabeth S. Granger; District 5 councilman Keith Hopper; and two at-large members, Vincent LaBue and Hayward Steele.

Scott, Jenkins, Granger, LaBue and Steele are incumbents.

In Merryville, David Eaves was elected without opposition as the town’s new mayor after Mayor Larry Carroll did not seek re-election.

Michael H. Stelly was the only candidate to sign up as the next police chief. Police Chief Craig Lanier did not seek re-election.

Returning unopposed to the Merryville Town Council will be Amanda Pointer, Mark Wayne Allen, Alton Bennett, Beaver B. Knighton and Mance M. Stark.


In Sulphur, incumbent District 5 councilman Stuart Moss was re-elected outright.


In New Llano, Mayor Freddie Boswell was elected without opposition to a fifth term. Police Chief Danny D. Hunt was re-elected to a third term.

Comment on this article

captcha 6f3e596ddbf149e99ac60e7c3f5deeea

Get Social With Us!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mobile
  • Feed

Copyright © 2015 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press