American Press

Thursday, May 25, 2017
Southwest Louisiana ,


Basile, Elton lead way on All-Southwest Louisiana small schools team

Last Modified: Saturday, January 05, 2013 7:27 PM

By Warren Arceneaux / American Press

Big plays from running back Kendrick Ceaser helped Basile play its biggest games in a while this season, as Ceaser ranked among the state’s leading rushers while helping the Bearcats reach the quarterfinal round of the playoffs for the first time since 1996.

The resurgent season for the Bearcats has earned them two of the three individual awards on the American Press All-Southwest Louisiana small schools football team.

Ceaser is the Offensive Most Valuable Player after rushing for 2,217 yards and scoring 26 touchdowns.

Bearcats head coach Tony Bertrand is Coach of the Year after guiding his team to a 9-1 regular-season record, then playoff wins over Elton and Plain Dealing. The Bearcats finished the season 11-2.

Defensive MVP is Elton linebacker Micah Lavan, who made 88 tackles, including 18 for losses, broke up three passes, forced two fumbles and recovered one. A two-way standout, Lavan rushed for 1,412 yards and scored 23 touchdowns for the Indians.

Joining Ceaser on the offense are Rosepine quarterback Blake Hinson, who led the Eagles to a share of the District 4-2A title and the second round of the Class 2A playoffs.

The other running backs are Lavan and Marshall Harmon of Kinder. Receivers are Taylor McFarlin of Lake Arthur and Khalil Leblanc of Kinder. The linemen are Landon Ortego of Basile, Drew Gaspard of Lake Arthur, Dakota Johnson of Kinder, Sam McMahon of Oberlin and Jude Johnson of Basile. Tight end is Lane Giggar of Welsh and athlete is Oberlin running back/linebacker Lance Frank.

Defensive linemen are Stone Labuff of Kinder, William Heinen of Welsh, Isaiah Wheeler of Hamilton Christian and Travis Daggett of Elton. Linebackers are James Means of Rosepine, Tray Goodwin of Welsh, B.J. Allison of Oakdale and Lavan.

Defensive backs are Seth Edwards of Hamilton Christian, Aaron McClendon of Oberlin, Evan Deshotel of Lake Arthur and Tyron South of Kinder.

Specialsts are South Cameron kick Jose Castillo, punter Sean Leleaux of Welsh and returner Scott Ross of Elton.

Comment on this article

captcha 018c4a7ea2bd4ab18564fd4ec0719a55

Copyright © 2017 American Press

Privacy Policies: American Press